I am of the view that he was not holding the ball. In that case, downward pressure is required to score a try. If you are of the view that he was still "holding" the ball, then we are disagreeing on facts, not law. So be it.
The first try was from a dummy my mum wouldn't fall for, and the second was just a defensive positioning error from a scratch side resulting in a gap you could drive a truck through and nobody came within metres of him. Yeah, he spotted the gap, but so did I sitting behind the goal posts 100 metres away. Two world class tries? He'll have to do better than that with the Aussie back row covering.
My French is crap but I do a bit of refereeing. I believe this is not a ruck penalty - as has been pointed out, clearly the conditions for a ruck didn't exist - but rather that the penalty was for incorrect entry to the tackle area. White 15 plays the ball, Red 12 tackles him and he spills the ball backwards but it lands next to him, hence it's still in the tackle area. Red 11 is then required to come "through the gate" to play the ball as he was not the tackler. He did not, hence the penalty, which prevented a possible try, put not sufficiently certain to give a penalty try, hence the yellow. Superb refereeing. »