Under the current laws of the game a ruck/maul/scrum is over when the ball or ball carrier breaks the plane of the try line. That being the case once the ball touched the try line the ruck is over and therefore no offside line exists.
Eggman you are comparing 2 totally different situations. Firstly what the video ref did in that SA vs NZ game was incorrect in law but totally right in that the try wasn't allowed as it was a forward pass. »
The problem here is not the tackle or where it hit Paterson but that all parties on the field missed it, this is something the Assistant referees are meant to pick up. As they didn't the citing commissioner stepped in as they should. »