Friday, January 21, 2011
As we've seen on more than one occasion, being a referee comes with a few occupational hazards. While they should be light on their feet, aware of their positioning and generally one step ahead, occasionally they get it wrong.
Irish referee George Clancy  got himself in a bad position when officiating last weekend's Heineken Cup game between London Irish and Ospreys, resulting in a pretty solid tackle from Exiles center Seilala Mapusua.
In fairness it looked as though Clancy got in the way because it was such a quick pickup off the base from Ospreys number eight Jonathan Thomas. If you watch carefully you'll see how referee Clancy, wearing bright pink on the night, turned and basically ran head-on into the collision.
To his credit, he bounced straight back up and showed little ill-effects from the knock that was actually one of the bigger hits we've seen ref's take over the years.
It's only a short clip as there were no replays at the time, but it was requested and we figured some of you might find some mild amusement in it. Have a great weekend.
Don't miss out on rugby's biggest stories and most
popular videos with the new Rugbydump Daily
Posted in See it to Believe it