Saturday, May 22, 2010

Super Saturday - Results update

Super Saturday - Results update

There were three massive games earlier today as it was an action packed day of sport around the world. In the Super 14 we had the two Semi finals in South Africa, while the final of the Heineken Cup took place at Stade de France in Paris.

Bulls vs Crusaders - Super 14 1st Semi final
It was a repeat of last years semi final as the Bulls once again beat the Crusaders to progress to the final. A packed Orlando Stadium hosted a high profile rugby match for the first time ever in what was a great occasion for not only Soweto, but the country on a whole.

Morne Steyn kicked 24 points while tries were scored by Pierre Spies, Zane Kirchner, and Fourie Du Preez as the Bulls took the match 39-24, and will host the final next weekend.

Biarritz vs Toulouse - Heineken Cup Final
Toulouse were crowned champions of Europe once again as they beat Biarritz 21-19 in front of a packed Stade de France in Paris earlier this evening. This win is their fourth in the fifteen year history of the tournament, the best record to date.

David Skrela and Florian Fritz scored the points for Toulouse as the Skrela kicked two drops and three penalties, while Fritz slotted one drop and a long range penalty. Biarritz managed a late try through Karmichael Hunt, but it wasn't enough as Toulouse powered on to victory.

Stormers vs Waratahs - Super 14 2nd Semi Final
The Stormers will face the Bulls in the final of the Super 14 after they beat the Waratahs 25-6 in what was a comfortable win despite it being a physically bruising contest. Peter Grant kicked 20 points while centre Juan de Jongh scored a stunning individual try.

The final will be the first ever for the Stormers, and is set to be am uphill challenge as they'll be away from home, facing the defending champions Bulls in what will be a fiercely contested all South African derby.

Springbok team to face Wales on 5th June
Following the matches, Springbok coach Peter de Villiers named his team to face Wales at the Millennium Stadium next month. As expected, De Villiers has chosen a contingent of overseas based players, with recalls for Butch James of Bath, and Joe Van Niekerk of Toulon. Both last played for their country in 2008.

Frans Steyn (Racing Metro); Gio Aplon (Stormers), Jean de Villiers (Munster), Butch James (Bath), Odwa Ndungane (Sharks); Ruan Pienaar (Sharks), Ricky Januarie (Stormers), CJ van der Linde (Leinster), John Smit (Sharks), BJ Botha (Ulster), Danie Rossouw (Bulls), Andries Bekker (Stormers), Francois Louw (Stormers), Dewald Potgieter (Bulls), Joe van Niekerk (Toulon)
Replacements: Chiliboy Ralepelle (Bulls), Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), Alistair Hargreaves (Sharks), Ryan Kankowski (Sharks), Meyer Bosman (Cheetahs), Juan de Jongh (Stormers), Bjorn Basson (Cheetahs)

Don't miss out on rugby's biggest stories and most
popular videos with the new Rugbydump Daily

Posted by Rugbydump at 11:03 pm | View Comments (22)

No Comments

Viewing {[{ comments.length }]} Comments Refresh


{[{c.num_likes}]}👍· Reply · Report

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment