Monday, September 17, 2007

Gareth Thomas late hit on Berrick Barnes

Gareth Thomas late hit on Berrick Barnes

Young Berrick Barnes made only his second appearance for the Wallabies against Wales on the weekend. In a game that the Aussies won comfortably in the end, Barnes played well, with some decisive breaks and good distribution.

After one of this excellent breaks and a great dummy, he offloaded to Matt Giteau and received a welcome to test rugby from Welsh captain Gareth Thomas. Late and hard, this hit should have resulted in a yellow card.

Totally uncalled for and I think the fact that Thomas got away with it has something to do with him being captain. For some reason the refs always take this into account when making decisions.

Horrible hit for the youngster Barnes after such a good break, but luckily for him and the Aussies he got up and carried on playing showing no ill effects.

Not great by Thomas though, and as you'll see, Australia got revenge.

Posted by Rugbydump at 9:38 am | View Comments (15)

Viewing 15 comments

Anonymous September 18, 2007 6:30 am

What is with this new breed of rugby player who insists on preceding a try with a giant swan dive? They look like muppets, and it's bound to go wrong at some point.

· Reply · Report

Rugbydump Admin September 18, 2007 6:49 am

Christopher, copyright issues. Only the latest World Cup videos are being targeted, but we're trying to find a way around it so you guys can still see all the good stuff.

· Reply · Report

Craus_100 September 18, 2007 4:50 pm

has he been cited for it yet??

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 18, 2007 4:53 pm

I don't think it looks that late, you can see him go for the hit before the pass, especially in the slow mo through the posts. The pass could have easily been a dummy before the hit was lined up - in that situation I would've taken my man also instead of being another person he's just run around!

· Reply · Report

James September 19, 2007 1:09 am

I agree that its not late, defintely a shoulder charge though. Keep in mind I'm Australian.It seems as though any time a guy gets hit after passing or kicking people think its late. What are the players supposed to do? If someone looks as though they are about to pass they should go "oh, better not touch him then"? Then the guy dummies and doesn't actually pass.. Barnes' pass was nicely timed, but he should have got hit. Just not with the shoulder and no arms.

· Reply · Report

petroshernandez September 19, 2007 4:17 am

This was and old crusty trying to put the hard-man act on the new fella.... but Mr.Thomas spent the rest of the game watching from the sideline after one of the Wallabies gave him the same treatment three minutes later.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 21, 2007 1:56 pm

Definately not late. Anyone who has ever played knows you have to hit your man in case they throw a dummy. I agree that it was a shoulder charge though.I agree with comments about the swan dive... looks silly and could easily end someone's tournament with an injury.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous October 12, 2007 12:22 am

Swan dives are the most stupidest things I have ever seen! You wouldn't try that crap on an Australian field, you'd end up pushing your nuts through your blow hole as well as breaking both your elbows and knees in the process. Giteau uses it as a trademark type thing, loser! As for the hit, it was a definate shoulder charge, and I ask again for the consistency of the World Cup referees to be taken into account!

· Reply · Report

DK October 14, 2007 5:32 pm

It wasn't that late but he didn't try and tackle as his arms weren't outstretched. You can't just throw your should into someone slightly late just because he cut through your defence with no effort

· Reply · Report

geraint December 13, 2007 10:36 pm

Definite yellow card

· Reply · Report

hamish m December 24, 2007 12:55 pm

"What is with this new breed of rugby player who insists on preceding a try with a giant swan dive? They look like muppets, and it's bound to go wrong at some point."Leguizamond (sp?)

· Reply · Report

stuie February 02, 2008 3:53 am

Gareth Thomas did what every decent full back would do - if he hadn't hit barnes then it would've looked like he'd done nothing. He took into consideration that barnes might've tried to dummy him and he made the necessary hit.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous March 22, 2008 1:53 am

It doesn't seem that late....its just that he gave Barnes a "rugby league" arms

· Reply · Report

angus March 28, 2008 10:34 pm

was barnes playing centre, because Larkham is playing.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 01, 2008 3:57 pm

thats what you get if you are a cheesey idiot

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.